Task 2: People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.

It is argued that government should raise the fuel cost for cars, and other vehicles to address evironmental issues. This essay will discuss this statement, and explain why I believe that the best approach is to introduce other measures alongside the increasing fuel price measure.

On the one hand, if government raised the fuel price, this would reduce carbon emissions. For example, there are many people who use their car every day, if authorities introduces this measure, people will tend to use the railway. One of the positive impacts is that it will be less traffic in the cities, and less emission. Nonetheless, government should consider that they may need to develop the infrastructure of rail and roads to efficiently carry on these public services. From a freight perspective, rail transport will be used, and this will reduce emissions and greenhouse effect.

On the other hand, government should introduce other measures alongside increasing the fuel price. For example, they should preserve parks and trees, as these play a significant role in reducing the pollution. In addition, authority can impose a congestion charge on vehicles that go to the city centre, this will encourage people to use the rail to save money. Another effective measure is that to move all factories to the country side, where there are a lot of trees and green areas.

In conclusion, raising the fuel price will not make much difference in solving environmental problems. Therefore, the most effective approach is that government should introduce several measures to address these issues.