Task 2: Some people believe that employers should not be concerned about the way their employees dress, but they should be concerned about the quality at work. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

Many believe that employers should not pay attention to their employees’ outfits in the workplace as long as their work performance is up to standard. In my opinion, I partially agree with it; however, I believe there should be some certain rules.

On the one hand, I strongly believe that there are several advantages when employers care about employee’s work outputs more than their outfits. Firstly, as far as I am concerned, this practice will boost employee’s productivity because employees perform best when they are dressed comfortably. For instance, many people find business vests uncomfortable and hot to wear. Therefore, if a business forces their employees to wear outfits they are uneasy with, they might not be able to fully concentrate on their work. Secondly, when letting employees wear their preferred attires, employers can enhance the inclusivity in the workplace. This is because many people dress to honor their cultural heritage. Take female employees in Isalam countries, for instance, it is their norm to wear head veils and we should respect that to forster a more inclusive working environment.

On the other hand, it is to my belief that in some cases, employers should also care about their employees’ working outfits. For example, it will be entirely inappropriate for an office executive to wear revealing outfits to their offices. Employers, therefore, must prohibit that. In addition, there are some positions where employees’ outfits can directly and vastly impact their work quality. For instance, a salesperson or business negotiator must both pay close attention to how they dress. Otherwise, no one would take them serious .

In conclusion, while I am inclined that employers ought to care more about their employee’s work quality than their ways of dressing, there are still some cases where employers need to ensure their employees dress decently.