Task 2: Some people say that to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus more on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people think that it is essential for the government to reduce environmental pollution and housing in order to prevent illness and disease. From my perspective, I completely agree with this notion.

Granted, both problem-related environment and accommodations are the causes behind some kind of ailments. Firstly, pollution has profound health implications for city dwellers, with multiple causes contributing to this prevalence such as vehicular emissions and deforestation. This is because the high concentration of vehicles in cities leads to the release of pollutants including carbon monoxide, nitrogen oxides, and particulate matter. These pollutants can cause respiratory diseases like asthma and bronchitis, as well as cardiovascular problems like heart attacks and high blood pressure. Secondly, these days people tend to cut down trees to make way for skyscrapers, resulting in disturbing oxygen resources, and increasing pollution-related diseases. This is evident that forests take in carbon dioxide to take out oxygen that plays an important role in keeping fresh air.

There are many stronger reasons to argue that there is another cause of diseases and illness. First and foremost, a sedentary lifestyle is one of the reasons for this trend. This is happening because sedentary lifestyle related activities are increasingly common, likewise, burning the middle oil, eating fast food and takeaway, leading to some problems like obesity or cancer. Furthermore, such activities could trigger mental health issues, such as depression and anxiety. For instance, the young usually stay overnight to employ smartphones, tablets and computers as a result they do not have enough leisure time to take a break. As a consequence, they often feel tired, and have no aspiration to do another.

In conclusion, although housing and pollution would have an adverse impact on one ‘s health, I believe that a sedentary lifestyle is the root cause behind this trend. As a result, individuals should consider themselves to prevent diseases.