Task 2: Some people think that the government should provide free public libraries in every town, while others think that this is a waste of money because people can access information on the internet. Consider both viewpoints and provide your own opinion.

Everyone should have access to information. However, there is a debate regarding the way to provide this access. Should the government open free public libraries in every city, or will this be a waste of government funds? In my opinion, providing free public libraries will be a more efficient way of making people informed and literate.

On one hand, public libraries offer a structured environment, where people can focus on their reading without any interruptions. As not everyone might have a dedicated or alone space for reading books, libraries are a great place to stay focused. Additionally, libraries have books which might not be available online. Even if they are, they might not be free. Everyone, especially students, can take great advantage of this free access to a huge database. Furthermore, the elderly and less digitally literate people often cannot use the internet and face challenges. Libraries provide them easy access to information without having to learn how to use the internet.

On the other hand, expenditure on public libraries in each town can be enormous for the government. Hence, some believe that it is not a wise way to use government funds. Proponents of this opinion argue that information can be acquired through the internet and there is no need of government supported libraries. In modern times, all books are available online in the form of e-books. Yet it is also true that access to all these is not free, and readers often have to pay to read. Although they might not be the most accurate source for students and academics, there are many articles, blogs and tutorials available online along with books.

To conclude, while information can be gained through the internet, public libraries are more efficient and helpful for the general public. Therefore, the government should open free libraries in each town.