Task 2:Research has shown that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, the advertising of certain food products should be banned in the same way as the advertising of cigarettes in some countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Numerous researchers state that the problem of overeating may present a potential threat to individuals’ health. Therefore, some people think that advertising of some kinds of food should be banned just like cigaretts are. I strongly agree with this view, as marketing campaigns often success in persuading the younger generation and overeating may result in serious health problems.

To begin with, overeating is an actual health problem, especially in the USA and South America. It results not only in obesity but also in various diseases, such as diabetes and high blood pressure. Therefore I believe that it is important to ensure that advertising of certain foods is banned in order to avoid the obesity epidemic, which has been spreading for many years now. It is important to mention that due to widespread advertising of junk food in social media, the rate of people struggling with health problems became even bigger the in previous years.

Secondly, promoting of unhealthy food should be banned the way cigarettes are in some countries because of its influence on children and teenagers. This specific age category usually lacks critical thinking and cannot ignore the persuasive advertising junk food has. The way this kind of food is presented in advertising does not seem as a threat to health as it is. Consequently, controlling of marketing campaigns would reduce the amount of consumption, which is prevalent among adolescents.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that advertising of unhealthy food is a concerning issue because it results in increasing mediacal problems, especially of those who cannot understand the threat of it.