Task 2:Research has shown that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, the advertising of certain food products should be banned in the same way as the advertising of cigarettes in some countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are those who believe that advertising of several types of food needs to be restricted like tobacco products because of the harmful effects of them to the individuals health. I strongly agree with this statement because the limitation of advertisement contributes to lower level of overconsumption and it provides more space for other products to be promoted.

Banning ads of food that influences on people’s body results in the reducing of spontaneous eating of junky food. To explain, when people see banners with perfect meals it not only causes instant feeling the taste of food in persons mouth, but also makes them feel hungry even if there are not. In other words, if individuals do not face advertisements of food that gave negative consequences, they will not buy it randomly under the influence of the image. For example, it is proven that KFC or Burger King use specific colors in their ads to evoke a feeling of starvation, so when the number of pictures in the streets were reduced, the percentage of fast food sells declined by 7%. Therefore, advertisement restriction reduces the amount of overconsumption.

Next, if unhealthy food is limited, food that affects on people’s body positively will be more popular. In other words, individuals will consume proper meals more because brain of human always prefers something familiar. Therefore, when seeing healthy food will become common, its popularity will boost essentially. For example, when children under 14 didn’t see any sweets for a week, they stopped asking for a desert after the main meal and started to prefer fruits as a delicious treat. Obviously , because of the brain structure and function, popularly of healthy food will significantly enhance as a result of advertisements.

To conclude, promotion of unhealthy food needs to be limited because it positively affects on stopping overconsumption process and it creates opportunity for better category of food to =be more popularized.