Task 2:Research has shown that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, the advertising of certain food products should be banned in the same way as the advertising of cigarettes in some countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people have different views about the advertising of food products being banned in the same way as the advertising of cigarettes as overeating is as harmful as smoking. While there are some benefits of banning this kind of advert, I would not agree with this opinion.

Firstly, overeating CONTAINS a lot of calories, which leads to weight gain and obesity. This action will make people experience muscular and joint pains, high blood pressure, and heart attack. For example, Nickoavocado suffers from various health disorders and ailments by. Secondly, self-esteem is one of the consequences of eating too much as it is often linked to emotions rather than hunger and using food as a coping mechanism. As a result, they might feel regret and guilt, as well as lower self-esteem. Lastly, people who overeat are more likely to eat more than normal people because they spend more money to buy food and can not save money.

However, food advertisements should not be banned for many reasons. One of the main reasons is people working in this field can face unemployment which have an adverse impact on their lives. Due to this, the economy might decline significantly. Moreover, the government could lose a huge amount of tax revenue as banned food adverts may make many companies bankrupt. On the other hand, the government could do some activities to reduce the bad impact of overeating. Providing courses to teach people how to make healthier food choices and how to stop eating too much is a good way. For instance, the government could organize a TV show to introduce residents to cooking healthy food, so they will not spend money on junk food or bad food products. Additionally, the government should raise people’s awareness about the detrimental effects of overeating instead of banning this kind of advertisement. This action not only enhances people’s knowledge but also protects their health by themselves.

In conclusion, although overeating has many bad results, food product advertisements should not be banned.