Technological advancements have led to increased automation in various industries. Some believe this will ultimately lead to widespread unemployment and societal disruption, while others argue it will create new opportunities and improve our quality of life. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is widely known that advancements in technology overall has helped increase output in various industries. Some people do argue that this rapid development will cause unemployment and disruption levels to rise, others do believe otherwise and claim that it will improve our life quality in the future. In this essay, I will be talking about those starking views and what I would prupose my opinion as well.

Advocators of automation in our industries often do argue that it is necessary to introduce them, as they would help us be more efficient and produce higher quality items in a shorter period of time. For instance, the introducement of automation in car assembly has been proved to be more efficient than relying on human labor, due to its faster and more accurate delivery. Additionally, it is helpful for many industries as it would mean less operating costs over time along with the elimination of salaries provided to those labourers.

On the other hand, critics often argue that it will lead in the future to unemployment and cause disturbance in society. They argue that automation would eventually take up almost all the jobs in this industry, causing massive layoffs soon. For instance, food packaging nowadays is fully automated and has costed thousands of employees to go unemployed. Additionally, unemployment does have a huge role on our society, as it would disturb peoples routines overnight, causing higher stress levels among them.

My opinion in this case is mixed, while I am a big advocate of automations and do think it will help increase output and economic growth, it should also be done while calculating any possible effects, such as rising unemployment. For instance, automizing specific components in the food production sector while keeping employees working on the other functions, is a great idea that balances both sides, contributing towards a happier society.

In conclusion, although automation helps improve productivity in an industry, it is not a complete option. Other measures, such as striking a balance between automation and human labour is very important, as implementing this would have great effects on our industries.