Technology has impacted on the way people interact. These days, many relationships are created and maintained through technologies such as mobile, telephones and the internet. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using technology to establish and develop relationships?

The emergence of technology has changed how people engage with one another, including building relationships through smart devices. This development has brought numerous advantages to relationship-building, such as reducing social awkwardness and enhancing conflict management. Besides, there are also drawbacks, notably reliability reduction and the lack of real-life communication skills.

One significant benefit of technology is that many people have felt less inhibited and awkward in forming relationships thanks to the help of technology. People do not need to pay attention to their body language in virtual interactions, this can lead to a greater sense of comfort and lower apprehension about being scrutinized. When people are not pressured into a conversation, they tend to express themselves naturally, which makes it easier for relationships to be created. Another point to make is that online contact can improve conflict resolution within relationships. Talking through smart devices will give people more time to calm down. Furthermore, it also reduces the severity of people’s negative emotions because they do not directly observe each other in real situations.

Despite these benefits, relying heavily on technology for relationship maintenance can weaken trust between individuals. Trust typically develops through direct, face-to-face interactions where emotional cues are easily observed to evaluate the trustworthiness of one’s partner. Thus, only having online conversations will cause people to lack information about others’ stories and feelings. A further point to discuss is the impairment of real-world communication skills. While digital devices offer convenience in communicating with others from a stationary position, being proficient in face-to-face interactions requires a broader set of communication skills, such as interpreting body language and modulating vocal tone. Through this, it can be seen that people will not have many practical skills in meetings or speeches.

To conclude, technology plays an important role in people interacting with each other, it has many positive effects on people’s psychology but at the same time has negative effects on their real-life quality. Relationships should be balanced between face-to-face and online interactions to ensure everything is as comprehensive as possible.