Technology is being used more and more in education. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

In the age of advancement, use of technology for educational purposes is increasing with each passing day. While use of technology certainly improves efficiency of tasks performed and quality of learning, it can also lead to lack of creativity and hard work put up by students.

To begin with, technology certainly has improved the rate of task performance and opportunity to learn for all people, making education and learning easier and more accessible for all. Nowadays students and teachers likewise can easily access data regarding a certain topic much more conveniently and quickly from multiple sources and complete the task at hand and learn more in a shorter period of time. Likewise, individuals don’t require a formal platform to learn anything, they can easily access educational material for their desired task online and learn without any external help. It was stated in diplomat’s edition of June 2021 that around 37 percent people have learnt hard skills from YouTube tutorials and are working in a professional environment.

While technology has certainly eased learning, it has also lead students to become uncreative and lazy in their approach for learning. As internet provides an individual unrestricted access to everything, copying assignment and tests from online platforms as well as using artificial intelligence to complete a task makes one become dull in utilizing their cognitive abilities and they are unsuccessful in learning hard skills, an essence of education. Also students become lethargic in their approach towards education and it becomes a secondary priority. Studies from 2023 Oxford University Journal, show that 23 percent Gen Z find it hard to find a job with high skill demand.

In a nutshell, use of technology has made education more accessible than ever before but it can also lead to lack of ingenuity of one’s personal skillset. It is up to an individual of how they choose to utilize this powerful tool for themselves.