Televised talent shows have become popular in many societies today. Are these shows a good method of finding talented people, or are they just entertainment?

In the last decades, televised talent shows and entertainment programs have become very popular in many countries all over the world and also overseas.

Several pros and cons mark the efficiency and usefulness of watching TV programs and also its downsides.

Foremost, let’s consider the benefits. Media organizations announce the recruitment of young minds who have natural aptitudes from an early age. And then they are asked to showcase their striking features on the stage in front of a large audience. Consequently, spectators witness the unique abilities of young children, whereas most people find it very mesmerizing. People on the other side of the screen get very excited and inspired by watching such programs and thus start emulating their idols by copying their moves and manner of behavior. Lastly, talented people encourage and prod their admirers and also the young generation to exert much effort to become as good as they are.

Turning to drawbacks: Nowadays, most young adolescents who observe their peers through television or social media start behaving very aggressively toward people who are the same age as they are. The focal reason is that non-extraordinary people start feeling envy or even harboring feelings toward those who are more capable and resourceful than they are. Furthermore, some people find it reasonable to heap abuse on talented people through social networks or even send threatening messages to them. Additionally, they blackmail their personal lives and threaten them by revealing their whereabouts as a cause of their retribution. The last reason is that such life feed programs will never get old, holding their position always on top, and thus companies will always make a huge profit by exploiting gifted children. Meanwhile, the spectators are obsessed with something that is not plain and therefore feel inferior.

In summary, televised talent shows have their bright sides and also come with drawbacks. I take the view that such TV shows showcase extraordinary children’s capacities and also mold a new experience for people, while they can reap many benefits from watching them. On the other hand, people can evoke profound sentiments like jealousy, grudges, or even worse, hatred toward them by binge-watching. I surmise that prime-time talent shows are appropriate for both finding talented people and entertaining the spectators