Television serves many useful functions. It helps people to relax. We can learn from television, and it can also be seen as a companion for the lonely. To what extent do you agree with this? Explain why with your own experience.

Television plays a crucial role in lives of people. Many people believe that television helps people to relax, providing education and act as a companion for the lonely. I largely agree with this notion. This essay will elaborate advantages of television and thus, will lead to a logical conclusion.

To begin with, television serves as many useful functions, but the most prominent one is entertainment. To elaborate it, after long working day, people come back to home and they like to watch their favourite programs. This helps them to relax their minds. Moreover, television provides knowledge, people can know all about the world by watching news channels. For example, according to research conducted by Western Sydney University 80% people are in the favour of television is beneficial.

Secondly, television is a source of knowledge. With the help of it provides information about weather forecasts and current awareness which is useful for the students. In addition, it also acts a friend for elderly people. Because they stay at home this why television the sound and visuals of create feeling of company, which reduces loneliness. However, too much addition of television reduces the social interaction.

In conclusion, after arguing the all points one can conclude that television is act as an important part for people as it serves many beneficial things.