Thanks to developments in technology, many people today have lost basic skills such as how to repair clothes, etc. Why is this happening? Do you think that this is a negative development?

Technological progress has led to a decline basic skills, such as how to repair clothes, but I think that this has a positive and negative side.

In modern world, rapid technological advancement significantly changed the way people work and live. One of the reasons for such change, is price reduction. By improving special equipment, productivity increased and prices fell, so it has become easier for people to buy something new than to fix something old. Secondly, why folk have lost basic skills is an education shift. In the past, schools and families taught their children mostly practical skills, while schools in our century focus on academic and digital skills.

Nowadays, in this fleeting world, technological novelties make people’s lives easier by that freeing up time. Instead of spending a huge amount of time on household chores, a person can pass time with his family. Moreover, the decline of traditional skills is a result of progress. Ages ago, people needed these attainments for survival, but now the world is quite calm and safe, and technology has solved many everyday problems.

However, despite all these advantages, technological progress has its weaknesses. For example, today a lot of people use artificial intelligence to solve their difficulties, as doing homework or writing essays, thereby inhibiting brain function.

To sum up, it is impossible to say whether this development is gloomy or constructive, because this sphere has its pros and cons. The main thing is to find a balance, capturing technologies and preserving life skills.