The best to learn about other cultures is to work in multinational organisations. Do you agree or disagree?

Opinions differ on whether working for multinational organizations is the most effective way to learn about other cultures. I disagree with this school of thought, as, while this is valid to a certain extent, the definition of culture goes beyond the workplace dynamics.

Supporters of the given viewpoint highlight the importance of workplace cultures. They posit that when working with colleagues from diverse cultural backgrounds, people have to adapt to different working styles, various communication manners and mindsets, all of which may allow them to be more culturally literate. Nevertheless, multinational companies may already establish their standardized, yet rigid, environments with unique working styles. This means that despite branching across borders, their fixed workplace cultures may override the cultural identity of their employees, forcing them to comply with a single procedure. That being the case, employment in such companies seems not to offer any notable cultural benefits. Furthermore, culture is not confined to workplace solely, as it also encompasses various aspects, such as traditions, social values, and historical backgrounds.

Moreover, I would say that there are alternative ways for people to develop their cultural understanding. For instance, when studying abroad, learners not only have to communicate and share their perspectives on given topics but they also have to listen and analyze others’, especially those from different cultural contexts. The two-way interactions foster them to understand the mindset of various cultures that results in different opinions. Equally important, cultural trips exposes travelers to how the locals express their own social values in daily settings, which enables them to deeply understand the way historical contexts shape their behaviours and contemporary cultures.

In conclusion, while acquiring cultural knowledge through employment in multinational organizations seems somewhat justifiable, I am convinced that cultural understanding is better cultivated through exposure to immersive environments.