Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. Do you think the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, information technology is altering many aspects of our lives and reshapes our routine activities, such as home, leisure and work.I firmly believe that advantages of technology developments completely outweigh its disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are several drawbacks of technology and the main is screen addiction. A significant number of individuals spend an excessive amount of time on phones, in particular, they mindlessly scroll social media platforms and play online games.For example, one survey conducted in 2023 claimed that, on average , individuals spend three hours per day engaging with social media platforms, particularly TikTok and Instagram. As a result, due to short videos from social media and instant dopamine release from digital games the users’ attention span may reduce.

However, i firmly believe that technology has more benefits than drawbacks, and the primary one is the ability to stay in touch regardless of location. Not long time ago, individuals had difficulties with interaction at a distance, they had to wait for a long time to receive messages, however, currently we have digital apps, such as Telegram and WhatsApp, where individuals can chat with each other easily, since these apps can deliver the messages between people instantly.As a consequence, this development of digital platforms may strengthen the relationships among individuals.

In conclusion, i am quite convinced that the benefits of technology, namely the ability to stay in contact regardless of location can outweigh its drawbacks, such as screen addiction.