The best to learn about other cultures is to work in multinational organisations. Do you agree or disagree?

In the ever-globalized world, a school of thought, supported by many, states that the optimal method to immerse oneself in and grasp the intricacies of other cultures is via working for multinational corporations. From my perspective, although I acknowledge that some understanding can be achieved in a multinational organization, I firmly believe there are significantly more ways to better learn about foreign customs and practices in a meaningful manner.

On the one hand, working for multinational organizations can indeed equip people with more knowledge about other cultures. Firstly, when people pursue their professional lives in an international environment, they have more chances to meet people from different cultural backgrounds, facilitating the exchange of ideas and experiences across cultures to better understand one another. As a result, people working in this setting tend to gain more real-life insights into cultures, which can only be acquired little otherwise.

Nevertheless, I strongly believe that there are more optimal ways to immerse oneself in other cultures rather than working for international organizations. To commence with, many can obtain hands-on knowledge via travel or overseas studies. Being totally surrounded by a foreign culture, people can easily assimilate its essence and intricacies without any distractions from switches between personal and professional lives, as seen in the people who work for multinational companies since they are just partly exposed to the foreign culture at work. Therefore, traveling or studying in the culture itself not only boosts the depth of the knowledge about the culture, but also helps people to live and practice the culture themselves, thus enhancing their cultural understandings. Another striking way to assimilate cultures is via the internet. As the world has been increasingly connected through social media platforms, such as Facebook or X, people can effortlessly forge relationships with foreign individuals to exchange information through texts, video calls, or posts about their daily lives. For example, a person in Vietnam can befriend one from India to discuss cultural facts or simply exchange information about cultural differences. Ergo, this fosters a sense of global connection and contributes to bridging cultural barriers.

In conclusion, while I still acknowledge the significance of gaining knowledge about cultures by working for multinational companies, I firmly believe there are more effective ways to learn about the world, such as through travel and studies, or the internet, as they can help people experiment with the culture more easily and precisely.