The best to learn about other cultures is to work in multinational organisations. Do you agree or disagree?

It has been argued that the most effective way to gain insights into diverse societies is that working for an international organization. I strongly disagree with this point on views and I think it may not be the most comprehensive approach for everyone.

On the one hand, multinational organizations often prioritize uniformity and efficiency over cultural diversity, which can restrict opportunities for exchanging culture. In many cases, employees in this organizations fallow standard policy and regulations which are designed to be neutral and adaptable across countries, downplaying local customs. For instance, in multinational companies only international language is allowed to speak and employees handle the clients in this language as well as speak with other colleagues in office, which can hinder employees from fully experiencing or understanding the other languages and cultures. As a result, employees may not gain information about the languages which lead to lack the knowledge of culture.

In addition, they are various alternative methods for individuals to gain more in-depth understanding of other culture. For example, traveling and living in different countries allows for direct and immersive experiences, enabling individuals to engage in local communities, participate in traditional festivals, and adapt different daily routines that offer deep insights into a society’s values and social norms. Moreover, engaging with cultural exchanging program, language classes or international events can provide opportunities to interact with people from diverse backgrounds and learn about their culture in more personal and moral manner.

On the other hand, proponent of Working in a global enterprise appear to believe that working in this companies can still offer some benefits in terms of cultural understanding. Employees have the opportunity to collaborate with colleagues from various nationalities, which can expose them to different perspectives and ways of thinking. Furthermore, companies may organize cultural awareness training or events to promote respecting other culture among their staff.

In conclusion, while working for a multinational organization can contribute to cultural understanding to some extent, it is not the most effective approach. A combination of immersive experiences, such as traveling and participating in cultural exchange programs may provide a more profound and well-rounded understanding of different cultures.