The best way to combat crime is to give long prison sentences. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

People have different views as to whether the best method is to fight against crime is to give long prison sentences. While it has some advantages, I believe that there are better ways to tackle criminal activities.

On the one hand, there are several positive sides of giving long prison sentences. When a long prison is given for people, they are likely not to commit a crime again. Not only because they do not want to spend most of their valuable time in prison again, but also because they have to feed their family, so after committing a crime they might not to try this again. Moreover, long prison punishment can remove dangerous people from society, making it easier to live for population.

On the other hand, however, in my view people break the law due to lack of knowledge, and not having an occupation. I think the government have to focus on it, meaning that apart from school, children ought to be taught to other subjects, such as math, history, astronomy, and physics. As a result of this, their perspective on life improves, thereby they can know the consequences of violating the law. To carry out this way, the government give some money for children, who do not have enough money for going educational centers.

In conclusion, there is a view that giving long prison punishment is the best way for people not to commit crime again. Although it has various benefits, such as easier life for population, I am of the opinion that individuals should expand their perspective on life, with studying different subjects.