The best way to combat crime is to give long prison sentences. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Crime and punishment is one of the main topics in modern society. Some argue that long prison sentences are the best way to punish criminals and reduce crime rates. While this approach may be quite common and seem effective, this isn’t the best way to reduce the crime rates.

Firstly, long prison sentences create reintegration challenges for criminals. Long prison sentences make it difficult for individuals to reintegrate into society after release. This can lead to stigmatisation and difficulties finding employment, housing, and they may also face challenges with reintegrating into society again. These may encourage released criminals to reoffend. For example, many individuals who committed crimes and were imprisoned are more likely to commit crimes again because of difficulties with reintegration. Moreover, investing in longer prison sentences is costly for governments and may not lead to desired results. This also shows the ineffectiveness of long prison sentences and harsh punishments.

Secondly, recent researches show that lengthy sentences do not deter crime effectively. The certainty of apprehension and the likelihood of being caught are more influential than the severity of punishment. Furthermore, concentrating on the underlying causes of crime, such as poverty, lack of opportunity, and social inequality, may be more effective. This requires a multi-pronged approach that includes community-based programs. education, and job training. Additionally, focusing on alternative approaches such as community violence intervention programs, investing in schools, healthcare, and other services or education and job programs may bring more desired results.

In conclusion, while long prison sentences and harsh punishments are common ways for crime prevention, some alternative approaches that focus on the roots of crime commitment are a better solution.