The best way to make the road transport of goods safer is to ask drivers to take a driving test each year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

ome people argue that the best approach to increase road safety is for vehicle drivers to take an annual test. I completely disagree with this point of view because many traffic incidents are a result of bad weather and some companies’ promises of speedy delivery.

Frequently, bad weather is the main cause of car accidents. When it is raining or snowing, visibility becomes low and roads become slippery, which often leads to car crashes. So, instead of enforcing an annual testing program, regulators would do better to discourage car use in such weather conditions and encourage the use of transportation like subways and trams

In addition, many driving incidents are caused by the speedy shipping that some companies promote. Take Amazon Flex, for example. In order to fulfill same-day delivery, the platform has imposed very tight deadlines on its drivers. When falling behind schedule, these drivers tend to get stressed and drive recklessly. It was reported that since June 2015, there have been more than 60 crashes involving Amazon delivery drivers which have resulted in injuries or death. In this case, taking a driving test every year will not be very useful because even though the test can remind delivery drivers of the rules they should follow, they would still violate them to meet deadlines. A more effective method is to hold companies like Amazon Flex and Uber Eat responsible for the tragedies they cause. Hopefully, they can extend the tight deadlines they set.