The best way to motivate employees is to increase their salaries. Do you agree with this statement? Are there any other ways to encourage employees to work more efficiently? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Human capital is a pivotal resource in determining the growth and development of a company. Some argue that employee satisfaction entirely depends on their salary packages, while the opponents contend that flexibility at work, work life balance and employee performance rewards are key determinants for their satisfaction. Hence, I strongly disagree that salary increments are the only pivotal factor towards enthusiastic workforce, since there are other considerable factors.

An enthusiastic labour force is crucial to achieve the key performance indicators and its long-term goals. Salary packages will interest the candidates at acceptance of the job offer; however, remuneration is often not the only consideration to employee satisfaction in the long term. While a certain set of employees perform mundane, monotonous and repetitive tasks, others could be involved in dynamic job roles involving analysis, decision making and logical thinking. Despite the nature of the tasks and responsibilities, they spend at least 10 hours a day at work. Seldom, they get relaxation after work. Hence, I firmly believe that workplace should be an entertaining and a stress-free place for them to carry out their job duties.

Further, a company environment could promote different strategies to support employee satisfaction such as, employee performance rewards, work life balance, and flexibility at work. These would not only interest competent candidates but will also retain them within the company; creating a marginal employee turnover level. Admittedly, female labour force who are strategic and talented are considerably rising. Many studies are backing up this view with strong statistics. Hence, to protect the capable and potential employees, firms should promote flexibility at work. Even though, certain conglomerates promote workaholic lifestyle, workplaces that promote work life balance have received more prominence.

In conclusion, I completely disagree with this statement, since remuneration is not the only key criteria towards a satisfied labour force, yet there are other crucial factors. Although, employees who are skilled and potential would receive higher salary packages, but often they are unsatisfied, if the other determinants will not receive equal prominence.