The children spend most of their time taking part in sports in a serious way (…not only for fun). Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, most children take part in sports in a serious way, aiming to win, not to have fun. I strongly believe that it is a negative development, and this essay will present arguments for my point of view.

The main reason for my opinion is that it will increase negative qualities in children’s personalities, such as rudeness and a lack of empathy, and make them disrespectful towards others. These children will not feel any empathy for their peers or respect them due to the wish to win and a competitive personality. They will not consider anything more important than their goal to win and may even disrespect others who lose the game. For instance, a child who is too focused on winning may consider themselves more important and be rude to other members of the team. As a result, it badly affects a child’s personality and their development as a good individual.

Another important factor supporting my opinion is that such focus may limit a child’s development in other hobbies and skills. Paying too much attention to sports will reduce focus on academic subjects and time spent among peers and friends, and it will limit attention paid to other hobbies such as painting, playing chess, and so on. For example, there are several sports people who were only invested in their sport achievements and eventually did not fully develop in education, other hobbies or socially.

In conclusion, I think that children spending most of their time attending sports in a serious way is a negative development in a child’s life because it can lead to negative qualities in children and less time spending on another sectors of life.