The gap between rich and poor is increasing. What problems does it cause? What solutions can you suggest.

There is a widespread concern about social inequalities. This essay will look at the causes of this issue, as well as, propose two solutions to bridge the gap between the poor and rich.

The main reason for this conflict is private property. For centuries, property has been passed down from one generation to the next, widening the inequalities. To illustrate, some people are born into wealth, giving them a higher net worth than individuals who have spent years working. Another point that underpins this situation is the access to education depending on the income. Although there are tons of free universities, these are not as influential as the fee-paying institutions. Furthermore, individuals who lack economic resources tend to have financial responsibilities to support their family. Then, they cannot spend the same time studying as someone who does not need to do anything else.

There is a clear solution to solve this issue; governments should invest in education by providing grants which allow students to be released from household difficulties. It is often seen people who cannot complete their coursework because of financial problems. This financial undertaking could provide not only money but also books, teachers or computers in order to strengthen their academic commitment. On the other hand, the governments could enact laws that regulate private property to redistribute wealth among the population. Although it could seem as communisism, it could not be further from the reality, what it is presented is a new system that actually encourages the low-income households, whilst the rest of the country keep generating wealth.

To summarise, private property and education are the two main factors which set apart wealth and poverty. Since the government retains control of these two sectors, I am firmly convinced that through regulations and bursaries the world would be a more equal place.