The government has the duty to ensure that its citizens have a healthy diet, while others believe this is the individuals' responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that the state is accountable for their citizens’ dietary intake because it is in the government’s interest to keep a high health status in the country. However, others argue that citizens should take care of their diet as it is only controlled by their own actions, and I agree with the latter.

Governments are interested in having a high health status in their countries. This is because citizens are fundamental in the holistic development of a country. Should people massively consume junk foods, the health rate of the publuc will decrease. Consequently, people will be more vulnerable to diseases like coronavirus. Thus, the state may lose the prime workforce of the country. In case of such life-threatening situations, the damage of diseases will be destructive, as it may result in massive human losses and unstable socio-economic situation. Therefore, it is the government’s responsibility to monitor the diet of its people.

Although governments are in duty to keep their people safe, I am convinced that individuals have to rely only on themselves in terms of their nutrition. I believe that no one else can contribute to one’s diet except for the person himself. For instance, even if there will be an awareness campaign that encourages healthy eating, the choice is always on the individual’s side. In other words, it is their decision whether to stay healthy or not. People usually have an opportunity and free will to manage their food choices; however, if they do not have any willingness and commitment to a healthy lifestyle, then governmental programs are useless at this point.

To conclude, while some contend that the authorities bear responsibility for the public diet because of their own interest, I acknowledge that it is fully dependent on the person himself.