The government should be responsible for providing retirees with financial support and care. While many people think that citizens should save money to take care of themselves when they are old. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many types of foods and drinks that are produced in factories contain much sugar, leading to health-related issues; thus, the price of these products ought to be increased to reduce the consumption of sugar. I personally disagree with the aforementioned statement primarily because people who are addicted to sugar cannot stop their desire, plus sugary drinks are sold almost everywhere.

The popularity of consuming sweet foods and drinks will not wane when they cost more. Many people rely heavily on sugar in order to stay active, so, if they have to consume less of it, it can interfere with their daily lifestyles, especially with their work. Despite making the price of sugary products more costly, those who highly depend on sweet stuff will buy them because they need energy to boost their work. In addition, some individuals do not care whether the price of sugary products is high or the same, meaning that this group of people buy sugary foods and drinks because they like them so much that money will minimally affect them.

Furthermore, sugary products are sold widely in various places. As a result, people often cannot restrain their temptation to consume sweet things when seeing them, although they are made more expensive. In Japan, for instance, many vending machines are ubiquitously placed around the cities, particularly Tokyo, which stimulates the desire of the pass-buyers to consume more sugar. Not to mention the fact that many restaurants worldwide also sell Coke and Pepsi, the two main sodas containing high amounts of sugar.

In order for this problem to be fixed, the manufacturers need to produce drinks and food that are already low in sugar to effectively comply with the less sugar intake. Another method is to reduce the prevalence of vending machines and sweet drinks selections on restaurant menus.

To summarize, I do not concur that by making food and drinks that have high content of sugar more expensive will reduce the consumption of it. This is mainly due to the necessity of sugar which makes people energetic, plus, regardless of an increase in prices, people still do not take it into serious consideration since they have a craving to drink. Additionally, because sugary products are ubiquitous, many cannot refrain from consuming sugar. In spite of all problems to reduce sugar consumption, not only can this be resolved by manufacturing low-sugar products but reducing the sales of sugary things can also encourage people to eat less sugar.