The government should control the amount of violence in films and on television in order to decrease violent crimes in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is suggested that the government should control the amount of the violence in films and on television to decrease the level of violent crimes in society. I partly agree with the view, but i still believe that violence is necessary to be used in television and film works.

On the one hand, it is a fact that violence presentation may have a negative impact on people, especially children. The violent images from the television and the film works sometimes leave a deep impression on audiences, and the individuals especially the children may generate the impulse to imitate the violent images they’ve seen, thus committing a crime. Additionally, not everyone in society can accept the violence equally, some children, who is still growing ,are unable to judge by themself, so the violence fragments may leave them everlasting influence and change their characters, which may bury a criminal germ in their mind. So, limiting these violence in television and film works can protect the young people from potential harms.

However, violent crimes are not simply caused by the violence in TVs and films, but result from complex factors. The environment people live, the education level , the mental health all lead to the crimes. Simply reducing the violence in TVs and films is unlikely to reduce the problem significantly from the root. Furthermore, violence in TVs and films are sometimes necessary. Aimed at presenting the realist and the wildest images to the audience in some specific conditions, The violence may make the TVs or films more close to the reality. And that exposure to violence can not only present a better work, but improve the public beauty-appreciation.

To conclude, violence in TVs and movies should not be over-controlled by the government.