The government should lower the budget on the arts in order to allocate more money to education. To what extent do you agree?

The debate over whether more government money should be invested in education or the arts remains heated and contentious.Although some people think that instead of the government continuing to put money into the arts, it would be better to cut back and prioritize education.While it can be said that education is the premise for the development of other professions, I still strongly disagree with the view and believe art plays a crucial role in the society.

To begin with, art is of significant importance due to its social values that foster connections between individuals.For many people, art is something that helps them escape from everyday life, from the hustle and bustle of life, to enter their own peaceful space.Artists consider art as a tool that allows them to release the emotions that are difficult to express in their hearts, and the audience is the one to sympathize and feel them through their own perspective.Art is a mystical form of communication since it brings people together, regardless of their varied experience, stories and languages.Take art therapy as an illustration, art therapists have successfully used methods such as painting, sculpting to as treatments and ways to communicate with their patients who have language barriers.This demonstrates art’s potential to bridge communication gaps between others, making communication and connection no longer limited to words.

However, those who are in favor of increased investment in education would argue that funding the arts will only benefit a relatively small segment of society as a whole, while education has an impact on everyone, bringing more practical values for work.Despite their valid concerns, the impact of art on people cannot be ignored, along with the educational value it brings. While it may be only artists who benefit from government money, the influence of art is not limited to these people.For instance, the Cloud Gate sculpture or The Bean in Chicago’s Millennium Park attracts millions of visitors annually, becoming a symbol of the city and boosting local tourism along with economy.In addition, the arts contribute to a more comprehensive curriculum as they have the ability to help students enhance creativity, critical thinking and emotional intelligence, which are all practical skills and highly valued in many jobs.This directly suggests not only does art affects all levels of society, it also demonstrates its real-life values including economic, cultural and educational.

In conclusion, education is a very essential part of society, but the arts promote creativity, social connection and economic growth while supporting education. A balance between the two is essential for a well-rounded society, so the government should fund both sectors equally.