The government should provide free healthcare for all citizens. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is highly recommended that there be provision of free healthcare for all people. While I disagree with this, I believe that government should heavily subsidize public well-being promoting programs.

On the one hand, a plethora of problems are brought about when everyone gains access to healthcare service. Obviously, it appears to be hard to maintain this campaign because there is limited budget that can not cater to all the price of medical stuff. If one government still try to spend enough money on this, there will be a lot of damage caused to its economy. Furthermore, not only money but fairness also needs to be taken into account. Since both poor people and affluent ones benefit from this service, it seems unfair that well-off individuals who can afford it, do not have to pay to be looked after, whereas those payment could serve as a great contributor to government’s fund. What’s more, as previously mentioned, a large number of people gain access to public healthcare more easily, so there would be much more waiting time at hospital, causing a great deal of inconvenience to patients, nurse and other workers, especially during rush hours.

On the other hand, free public healthcare programs have countless advantages in improving human lives and society. Apparently, this policy helps modernized medical techniques become more accessible to people living in remote areas in order that they could lead a better life, creating healthier societies. As a consequence, there will be decreased mortality rate among national citizens. Additionally, this scheme may encourage people to perform more effectively in workplace as they are cared about both mental and physical heath, which fosters the development of national economy. Moreover, as people no longer have to pay for medical treatment, they can set aside a significant amount of money for personal development and pursue their passions. Therefore, as I have previously mentioned, despite high cost, governments should provide people with healthcare subsidy.