The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in school curriculum. To what extent do you agree?

Owing the problems which obesity caused for government and society, it is argued that increasing number of sport classes in school can be a suitable solution. This essay strongly agrees with such an approach because having a regularly fitness routine can contribute to reduce obesity and it can lead to improving individual’s mental health.

Modern societies are facing the issue of fatness and having a light daily exercise routine will decrease the chance of weight-related illness exposure. In many schools and institutes pupils are flooded with many theoretical courses and they do not have adequate time to exercise. Therefore, they are facing countless health issues and having a daily short physical activity in the morning can prevent these illnesses. For instance, in Japan many educational departments force students to have a thirty minutes daily exercise in the morning.

Another key consideration is individuals’ mental health. Overeating because of anxiety and stress is a widespread issue in vast majority of students and on the other hand, obesity itself contributes to countless mental issues. To tackle these issues, educational institutions have to increase physical educations and motivate students to play disparate sports which can be fun and entertaining. To give a clear example, students who play team sport such as soccer and basketball, can build new friendships which can protect them from mental illnesses.

In conclusion, expanding the number of physical education lessons in schools is an effective strategy for reducing obesity and improving students’ mental health.