The growth of online streaming services has led to a decline in cinema attendance. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In recent years, there has been a growing debate around the increased popularity of online streaming services. This essay will examine the reason for the decline in cinema attendance and the potential impacts on the film industry.

The growing rise in popularity of online streaming services has been the root cause of a downward trend in cinema attendance. This could be for a varitey of reasons. For example, many people prefer to watch a new movie in the comfort of their own home with loved ones. At home, they are able to pause and dicuss parts of the movie that would be impossible in a cinema full of strangers. On top of this, many individuals prefer to watch movies with the subtitles on – this is not possible in the cinema.

Furthermore, as the demands of modern society increase after a long day at work, individuals prefer to relax in the comfort of their own home rather than go to the cinema. It is easy to replicate a cinema experience at home by using either a projector or a large TV with a sound bar which creates a cinema like experience. This can be achieved relatively cheap and it accessible to all.

In addition, many people argue that they already pay for mutiple streaming services such as Netflix, Amazon and Disney they would prefer to watch the movies readily available on these streaming platforms rather than go to the cinema. Most new movies are availble on streaming platforms after a short period of being in the cinema so the general public can watch the movie then.

However, this may have a significant impact on the film industry as a whole. I believe the biggest impact will be on independent cinemas who rely on customers to keep their buisness alive. It could be arguged that if movies are always available 24/7 this takes away the anticipation and excitement of watching a new movie in the cinema. This will impact actors, directors, costumer designers, script writers and many more. If customers are not attending the cinema, it may be that the film industry increase the price for the rights of the movie to streaming platforms. This will eventually increase the price fo streaming platforms for consumers.