The growth of online streaming services has led to a decline in cinema attendance. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

With the advent of modern technology, the major downfall of cinema screening has been observed due to rapid advancement in online streaming applications. Digital media and increased unemployment are the significant benefits and drawbacks, which will be discussed in this essay.

The most crucial benefit of this trend is advanced technology. People are excessively utilising LED screens at their homes within their own comfort zones. Ultimately, when screens tend to provide high quality images and videos with 5K or above ratios; resultantly, it would considerably reduce the attendance in cinemas. Despite spending a hefty amount on buying tickets, people are excessively relying on their own screens for watching a movie or content. Moreover, cutting- edge technology has globally connected the world through fast-pace internet and readily facilitating live streaming services. Namely, youtube and other websites are strongly tailoring the demands of viewers with enough media content. Consequently, this development is undoubtedly providing convenience in saving time and money.

The leading drawbacks are increased unemployment and reduced social interaction. The declining number of cinema-goers has possibly resulted in the closures of many cinemas; as a result, problems of job displacement and decline in economic growth have been witnessed. Furthermore, to address these societal issues such as unemployment and poverty, It is necessary to encourage people to visit cinemas to boost the economy. On the other hand, it is associated with various social implications. Watching movies in cinemas fosters social interaction among people, nonetheless, the low attendance would largely affect the cultural norms of our country.

In conclusion, various websites and social media applications have undoubtedly lowers the attendees in cinemas. By considering the convenience associated with its benefits, it is imperative for government to revive this trend for providing enough employment opportunities to people.