The increase in food production owes much to fertilizers and better machinery, but some people think that it has a negative impact on human health and community. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It’s undeniable that both fertilizers and advanced machinery attribute to the increase in food production. While some people think that it impacts people’s health and community negatively, I believe the advantages it brings outweigh the drawbacks.

On one hand, the widely use of fertilizers and machinery had reduced job opportunities in food industry, leading to an increase in unemployment rates, especially in countryside areas. This had made the community relatively unstable. Additionally, the remained fertilizers on foods can cause serious health issues if people don’t wash them properly. For example, studies show that vagetables and friuts that contain fertilizers are specificly harmful for children’s stomachs, so children should avoide eating foods with remained fertilizers.

On the other hand, there are several reasons support that both fertilizers and better machinery are beneficial to people’s well-being and the community. Firstly, the use of fertilizers and the advancements of machinery had significantly reduced the workload for farmers, which allow them to have a work-life balance lifestyles. As a result, they have more spare time to participant in community events. Secondly, the damage that fertilizers have on public health can be largely improved by educating them the correct way to wash fruits and vagetables. This method has been successfully applied to many developed countris, such as Japan and Korea. The illness that caused by fertilizers gradually declined to a insignificant number in these countries, so it can definately be applied to other countries which now suffer from this health problem.

In conclusion, while there are some potential issues that fertilizers and better machinery may cause to the society, the benefits that fertilizers and better machinery bring completely offset its downsides.