The increase in food production owes much to fertilizers and better machinery, but some people think that it has a negative impact on human health and community. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

So urgent is the attempt to meet society’s needs that several industrial sectors depend on risky short-term methods in order to achieve the required-production target. I personally agree with this statement for several reasons as we shall see below.

Firstly, we must realize that the excessive use of chemical fertilizers and pesticides often leaves toxic residues on agricultural produce, which, if consumed consistently, can

trigger critical illnesses. These circumstances are reinforced by the diminishing nutritional quality as plants are forced to grow at an accelerated pace, so food products become less nutritious than those produced through natural processes. Secondly, as human labor is replaced by sophisticated machines, job opportunities for lower class society are dwindling, ultimately, widening the economic gap and threatening the livelihoods of traditional workers.

I do appreciate the opposing view which is that by maintaining the modern method allows food production to be increased drastically in a short time to meet the demands of a growing population. However, I personally believe that the long-term benefits of such efficiencies will not truly be felt by the wider community if their health is sacrificed. Furthermore, the continuous and excessive use of chemical fertilizers has a destructive impact on nature particularly on soil sustainability. These chemicals degrade the soil structure and eliminate natural microorganisms, which ultimately makes the land barren and unproductive for future generations.

To sum up, it seems to me that while modern agricultural methods significantly accelerate food production, its negative impacts on health, society and the environment cannot be ignored.