The increase in obesity is the responsibility of individuals, not governments. Discuss both views.

In recent times, there has been an unprecedented increase in the obesity levels among human beings. Furthermore, some people believe that it is individual’s responsibility to maintain healthy body weight, while others believe that government should also contribute in these efforts. This essay will discuss both the views and present a conclusion to this issue.

Supporters who are of the view that obesity can be controlled by oneself, say that because it depends on one’s diet and physical activity. It is often observed that people consume food beyond their permissible calories and do not workout to burn those. This often leads to accumulation of fat in the body. It is seen that the obesity rates have significantly increased in many western countries due to consumption of high calorie food and lack of exercise. Hence, one can always stay fit by adopting healthy lifestyle.

Meanwhile, on the other side, some people argue that government has to take initiatives to maintain healthy population. They can do this by opening gymnasiums, promoting healthy products and charging premium rates for unhealthy foods. This kind of strategy has been adopted by some island nations, wherein they have included organic products in its people’s diet. Therefore, government can also play an important role when it comes to fitness.

In light of the above discussion, it is obvious that both people and government are responsible for maintaining healthy nation. While individuals need physical and mental effort to exercise daily, a strict legislation to prohibit some food products can make huge difference.