The increase in the number of privately-owned cars is having a negative impact on both our towns and the environment. What can individuals and the government do to reduce this problem?

More people are opting to use personal vehicles to travel from one destination to another. This trend has negatively affected both cities and the environment, by building up the traffic and polluting the nature. This essay will discuss the solutions that can be taken by both, individuals and governments to solve this problem.

There are many ways individuals can help solve this problem. Firstly, people can use public transport services for traveling to work or studies in the rush hours. This would significantly decrease traffic. For example, studies have shown that 84% of the traffic is created by personal vehicles in many countries. In addition, people can supersede gas cars with electric cars. It would reduce air pollution. For instance, Harvard research has concluded that electric cars can reduce 38% of global warming and air pollution. These kinds of acts by individuals lead to the thriving of everyone.

Although people can make a significant change, it is impossible to do the whole thing by themselves. Therefore, governments should take actions to solve the problem. Governments can reduce the number of vehicles entering cities, and force them to use public transport. This would drop the traffic and reduce the latency. Many governments have tried this method and have experienced positive changes in traffics, for instance. In addition, they can make public transport more efficient by adding more busses and trains. It would make more people attracted to public transport and reduce the traffic drastically. Moreover, they require emission tests and it would help in making the environment better. By making these decisions, governments can solve these issues.

In conclusion, many people have bought personal vehicles and started using them in their daily life, It has built up some problems in cities and the environment. This essay discussed the solutions which can be taken by governments and individuals to solve these problems. Individuals can opt for electric vehicles and use public transport. In addition, governments can make emission tests required and make public transport more efficient and comfortable.