The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

It is true that creating more consumer goods bring adverse impact to the ecosystem. Although there are several factors that are responsible for this issue including the negative effect of consumerism on people, but the government could certainly take steps to reduce this problem.

To begin with, with the coverage of social media and advertisement, people nowadays are persuaded to constantly buy new trending items that they do not need. They could be a brand new bag collection or a coffee table that is more suitable for todays aesthetic. For this reason, they throw away old items that are still in good condition or could easily repaired. As a result, the natural environment are now deleteriously polluted. To illustrate, thousand tons of clothes get dumped in the landfill every year because of fast fashion, creating Another reason for this problem is the short lifespan of consumer goods, which is attributed to planned obsolescence. Manufacturers, in order to earn higher profit margins, mass produce products that are not sustainable and can break after a certain time. By this way, they can pressure customer to buy a new one after a short time. Consequently, there are more chemicals used in manufacturing process get discharged into the environment, causing air and water pollution.

There are several action could be taken to alleviate this problem. Firstly, people should recycle usable items such as plastic bags or clothes. Secondly, the government should make a project focus on how consumer goods damage to environment to encourage people buy less consumer goods. For example, school could make a recycle project inspiring student to recycle cans or bottles for decoration.

In conclusion, there are two main reasons why the environment is deleteriously impacted by the increase in the production of consumer goods. For the sake of everyone, people and the government should join hand to prevent the impact of this issue.