The increasing housing problem in big cities has social consequences. Some people say that only government can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many social consequences are the result of the increasing housing problem in big cities and many people believe that only government has solution for this problem. For me, I partly agree with their opinion. Although I admit that government play an important role, housing problem required the joint effort of entire community.

Government has a key role to decrease housing problem. One of the potential solutions is government use funds to build more house with reasonable price in big cities. Therefore, many people can access these houses, reduce housing problems and its social consequences. For example, Vietnamese Government has a project named Social Housing Project, which aiming to provide affordable price house for low-income labor. Although this project has some limitations, many families have new house and new stabilize life. Another potential way to solve the increasing housing problem is urban re-planning. Government have many way to re-planning. They can move factories or education center – such as universities – to remote areas. As result, these remote areas increase jobs needed, attract people to live around them and lower pressure for big cities. Ho Chi Minh city of Viet Nam is a real example. By moving universities and its industries to remote areas – which know as Thu Duc city – help the center of Ho Chi Minh city lower the pressure of housing. Moreover, factories and company in Thu Duc city grow significantly and attract many people come here to work, bring countless benefits for local economies.

Although government hold the key roles, housing problem require joint effort of every people. An potential solution is people help low-income or disadvantage groups in community. It can be financial education or skill training. As the result, these group have enough knowledge and skill to work anywhere. Another solution is people – especially people have Master’s degree or PhD – can contribute housing policy for government. As result, many cities have a great planning can build and lower housing problem.

In conclusion, housing is complex issue of various big cities. To resolve it, governments play the crucial role to develop policies and re-planning urban. However, this problem cannot resolve without the help of other parts of community.