The increasing popularity of virtual reality and augmented reality technologies has led some to believe that physical travel will become obsolete in the future. Others argue that experiencing different cultures firsthand remains essential for personal growth and understanding. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, there has been a surge in the use of virtual reality and enhanced technologies. Few people has developed the idea that tourism and trips will soon become a thing of the past due to the fact that individuals can enjoy the view of distant places from the comfort of there homes. I believe this is true looking from the perspective of the use of social medias as an example, these platforms have greatly reduced face to face interaction in recent years. The development of this new technology will further decrease social interactions, reduce tourism which might result in a decline in cultural exchange. Also, this might cause a reduction in personal development resulting from absense of exploitation, decreased interaction with people which might hinder the flow of knowledge among people.

Virtual reality has recently becomes a trend and it is widely accepted globally. People find this new technology convenient, less expensive and easy to access. A wide range of people is satisfied with this because they believe they can acquire the reality they want either a replical of a nature resort or the ones programmed by Artificial Intelligence from their homes or just around the corner in there denominations. This easy accessibility and the convenience are drawing people’s attention from traveling or going for tourism. Additionally, this new development will save time and money making it a better option if compared to the trips to tourism center. For instance, a new virtual reality center was opened at Barkley street, with a detailed replica of Admond’s island displayed as one of their available virtual service with a fee of 100 dollars. However, a trip to the island from Barkley street in Texas is a total of 500 dollars without adding the cost of feeding and accomodation. After comparism, a lot of persons eventually prefer to go for the reality center which is cheaper and closeby.

On the other hand, this trending development will have a negative impact on tourism, self development and on the culture. An increase in the use of virtual reality will result in a significant decrease in the number of tourism thereby reducing exchange of culture and norms between tourist and the people of the community. A situation whereby there are no more opportunities for people to travel to other towns to learn about their norms, their lifestyle, their environment and the nature around them will lead to a halt in exchange of beliefs among societies and also limited knowledge on the part of individuals. For example, school children studying Arts always travel for practical excursion once every term to surrounding towns to learn about the artifacts, obtain new skills and patterns were suddenly restricted from going because there is a new technology where all these can be seen virtually. This process has stooped the knowledge and skills these children always acquire for free.

In conclusion, a rise in the use of virtual reality might result in a reduction in tourism and trips might become a relics of the past. This will have a negative impact on the society, culture and self development among individuals.