The increasing reliance on personalized news feeds and curated content has led to more tailored information consumption. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advancement of technology, people have become reliant on curated algorithms for their news and content, which results in individuals consuming mostly personalized information. While timeline tailoring helps netizens to stay alert on topics that pique their interest, I essentially believe that it has the harm related to cultivating an echo chamber outweigh the benefits.

The major advantage of curated feeds is that people can filter out the information they are not interested in and instead direct the algorithm towards suggesting news the person desires to see. This way, people can stay educated on the matters they find relevant for themselves. Consequently, if they do not like the reporting of certain news, they can solve the issue within a couple clicks. For example, individuals whose main interested is gardening content can use tools like reporting and “not interested” feature to remove videos and posts about crimes happening in their area. However, as much as I believe content filtering can be beneficial, it might lead people to become less educated on serious matters and issues happening around the world.

When it comes to the disadvantages of dependance on personalized news reporting, the main one is that it might result in people existing in echo chambers without any awareness. As the technology progresses, news spread much faster than before, making many individuals recieve them at a faster speed. However, with that comes the filter system that allows people to concentrate on consuming content that they enjoy without any realization about the global matters and vital news, for instance, wars and famine happening around the world. Furthermore, people may remain ignorant to political news in their local area that require action from the citivilians.

In conclusion, as much as media sorting has become beneficial in consuming enjoyable content, I believe the risks of becoming unaware of important matters outweigh the positives of personalized feeds.