The increasing reliance on social media for news consumption has led to a decline in critical thinking skills among young adults. What are the reasons for this trend, and what solutions can be implemented to promote media literacy and responsible online engagement?

The overabundance on social media in which they rely for news consumption causes a staggering decline in how people think critically and reduces civilian engagement leading to problems on the web. Overall, social media apps like Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, and Tiktok relay information which can lead to fake sources or scams if one is not careful.

Firstly, AI is more relevant than ever in the social media spectrum. Thousands of people online can type an image prompt of a person in need of a helping hand and easily tricked. This stratagem proves useful with seniors around the age 50-60 years old. With the rise of an AI video maker, it gets more advanced and recent videos popping out makes it impossible to discern between what is real and what is generated. This makes the news untrustworthy, leading to fake information which can damage credentials.

Secondly, people tend to be chronically online and politics is the main argument in either Twitter or Instagram. Staying online and arguing with another person with different ideals can weaken critical thinking because of how of unsustained a person can be to argue. Being reliant on social media for the consumption of news only brought negative problems, but we can implement to promote more discerning news consumption habits.

The way to cut off news consumption is through social detox. It is a trend to turn off all electronics; laptop, phone, computer, etc. Shutting off the negative side of the world can benefit your mental health and improve social engagement.