The internet has changed way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development Others believe that social media have negative effects.

In current contemporary society, the proliferation of social networks has brought about opposing viewpoints about their influences. Some people believe that the internet has offered us better communication, while other, myself including, contend that there are undeniable risks for human being.

To commence, the social media is helpful in bridging people from global distances. To begin with, people can keep in touch with each other through internet-based platforms right in the moment, instead of waiting several days for a letter. These networks allow users to connect whenever and wherever they are, as long as they are accessible to the internet. Therefore, families who have a member abroad can save up a noticable amount of money, without having to travel to places just for updating utmost important news.

On the other hand, the security deficiency while using these networks has reached to an alarming rate. There has been an increasing number of hi-jacking cases, in which the user’s personal details are exposed mostly for financial fraud. Cyber criminals are more likely to camoflage relatives’ social account to ask for money as people are less cautious with people in the family. Moreover, the safety of social media users is not assured as the widespread of unclarified rumours on the Internet may seriously affected one’s reputation, specifically celebrity’s.

In conclusion, despite the fact that social media exhibited significant benefits in terms of communication, the risks of personal leakage and the lack of news confirmation in these platforms require remarkble attention. Personally, I assert that better governmental policies and rules should be established for Internet behaviors, with a view to assuring the safety for the users.