The internet has changed way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development Others believe that social media have negative effects.

Communication styles have changed dramatically over the past years. From communicating without any mediums and include human interaction to the haevy usage of social media websites. This can be seen from the existence of varieties of social media websites available. Some see this as a wonderful enhancement of their lifestyles, while others have a more critical opinion. This essay will discuss the benefits and the drawbacks of social media.

Social media websites are now widely used around the world because of the advantages. These websites, allow us to communicate with our friends and family wherever we are without having to be in the same place. This does not only give a medium for us to communicate but it also helped us lessen the unnecessary costs such as transportation cost, fuel cost. Other than that, it also allows its users to reach for help and support directly when they are experiencing any life complications or issues. In addition, social media websites are also the best websites to search for information ranging from domestic to international news with only one click. Another advantage is sites such as LinkedIn are used a key resource for job recruiters, and many people find work in this way.

However, these sights also have a negative consequence for it. First and foremost, when it is not used efficiently without cooperating good time management skills social media will be a total distraction to daily works. This will not only affect students with academic responsibility, but it can also affect workers productivity level. Another drawback is the amount of misinformation that is spread like wildfire, causing distress to both private citizens and celebrities. Finally, the emergence of social media also decreased time spent on face-to-face communication that is important for our mental wellbeing.

In conclusion, social media does plays and important role in our life especially on how to find information and reach people when we need help, but they encourage time wasting and they provide a platform that allows unkind and nasty social interactions. I think people would do better spending their time face-to-face with real people.