The internet has changed way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development Others believe that social media have negative effects.

In current contemporary society, the proliferation of social networks has brought about opposing viewpoints about their influences. Some people believe that the internet has offered us better communication, while others, myself included, contend that there are undeniable risks for human beings.

To commence, social media is helpful in bridging people from global distances. To begin with, people can keep in touch with each other through online platforms like Facebook, Instagram in the real-time, instead of waiting several days for a letter. These networks allow users to connect and make a call whenever and wherever they are, as long as they have access to the internet. In addition, this onlinene interaction also provides a beneficial market for businesses to reach a wider range of customer. Nowadays, there has been a rising phenomenon of shopping on e-commerce platforms like Tik-tok Shop, Facebook Shopping through livestreams, which is recorded to gain better profit than the conventional way. Thereby, social media may boost the national economic growth.

On the other hand, the security deficiency while using the networks has reached an alarming rate. There has been an increasing number of hijacking cases, in which the user’s personal details are exposed and even being counterfeited for different purposes such as financial fraud. Cybercriminals are highly likely to exploit the user’s limited acumen about technology to carry out these illegal theft. Furthermore, social media is rife with misinformation, which may lead to false belief, especially in children and teenagers. Unverified and fake news can be spread out uncontrollably that one’s reputation would be completely ruined. As a result, it is more challenging to form human’s trusts with others, which may counterback the original merit of the online media.

In conclusion, despite the fact that social media exhibited significant benefits in terms of communication, the risks of personal leakage and the lack of news confirmation on these platforms require remarkable attention. Personally, I assert that better governmental policies and rules should be established for enhancing Internet behaviors, with a view to ensuring the safety of the users.