The internet has greatly increased our access to information. To what extent do you think this is a good thing? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The internet has significantly expanded opportunities to obtain information. I firmly believe it is a positive thing as it allows students to learn on their own, and also saves money.

The primary reason that I think it is a good thing is because it provides a self-learning platform to the learners. To explain, having access to every type of educational material online equips them with independent learning as they no longer have to rely on class teachers and books only to broaden the horizons of their knowledge regarding any particular subject. A prominent example of this is YouTube which offers unlimited video lessons in detail irrespective of any topic and place. Throughout this process, they not only can solve academic problems by themselves but also can learn on their own pace. Therefore, they independently manage to polish their cognitive as well as problem-solving skills.

Apart from learning support, searching for information online is cost-effective for individuals. This means that people can google the resources they need and obtain specific details free of cost regarding anything they are passionate about. For instance, there are a number of websites such as Chatgpt that provide free access to the users which makes it unnecessary to purchase books or any other material to gain knowledge.

To conclude, the internet has brought a range of opportunities to collect information as it is the only tool that supports self-learning and cost saving. Therefore, I completely believe that it is a positive development.