The internet has greatly increased our access to information. To what extent do you think this is a good thing? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is no denying the fact that the power of internet has led to an easy access of information to everybody. With the new age technology and the innovation of world wide web, sharing and accessing knowledge about anything has become easier than before. In my opinion, this has led to greater things despite fewer shortcomings and this essay outlines why I believe so.

The easy access of knowledge and news has widely taken place after the onset of internet. With the age of internet moving ahead, sharing of information is just a click away. Additionally, applications like WhatsApp, Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Youtube and more gives evidence of how looking up and sharing information is now on everybody’s fingertips. For example, if I need to learn how to cook a meal, I can easily look up the recipe on Google and even watch a video on Youtube to get better knowledge.

While we talk about the good things surrounding the internet, it cannot be undermined that sharing of unrealistic and abrupt information has also increased in today’s time. Moreover, with the new age of social media applications, the young influencers try to gain fame by spreading misinformation. According to a recent survey, it was found that around 20-30% of influencers spread wrong knowledge or rumoured information just to grab audience’s attention and gain more views and followers. This is often referred to as the social trap of internet.

In conclusion, though there are individuals trying to use the power of internet in wrong ways such as spreading misinformation, its huge advantage of easy access to information of any sort outweighs the disadvantages. To reiterate, in my opinion, this easy attainment of knowledge through internet is one of the greatest discoveries and it should be highly valued.