The Internet is often harmful, especially to young people, due to the amount and type of information people can access. To what extent do you agree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience.

It is often considered that detrimental effects on using the internet are contributed from the amount of misleading information and various sensitive contents, particularly influencing the young generation the most. From my perspective, I partially agree with this statement, as both advantages and drawbacks are there in this situation.

It is true that young people are more likely to be affected by harmful information through online software. One of the main reasons is that students may not have the mature mindset and experiences to detect whether the contents and information can be believed and adopted. Nowadays, there are many fraud incidents and fake pictures that are widespread on the internet, it may probably lead to mimicry and cheating being generated. In addition, by using the online social platforms, some sensitive contents and statements become visible and accessed by students. For example, violent and explicit videos can distort the values of young people with underdeveloped minds

However, technological applications can also benefit students’ well-being, assisting them with a sound educational environment. First, using online learning platforms can increase young people’s diverse development. Individuals have more opportunities to study outside of school mandatory curriculum, allowing them to foster habits and decide their path. Another positive side is enhanced global vision. Through the internet, students can eliminate the barriers of time zone and geographical distance to interact with people from different countries, not only broaden their horizons but also improve language skills.

In conclusion, under the undevelopment mindset, using technological devices is indeed significantly influencing people to receive accurate resources. However, technology can also assist students to improve their learning level and worldwide vision. To maximize benefits, governments should take action to implement limitations to relatively immature ages.