The internet when used as a source of information, has more drawbacks than advantages. To what extent you agree with this statement?

Nowadays, internet is being the most common way to search for information and knowledge. The online resources gave us an easy approach to find information that we need by just entering keywords. However, some of the individuals, such as teachers, scholars and politicians think that the drawbacks outweighed the merits in generalizing the use of internet resources as the method for us to absorb information.

In my opinion, I am totally disagree with this statement. As a university student, I have frequently been required to write thesis for assignments. And I am really a student have a strong dependency on the internet. I usually cite resources from online databases, such as ProQuest, Google scholar, Pubmed and Science direct. Citing resources and learning knowledge online are very convenient.

I have heard some of the concerns for the internet resources from the opponents of online information. The main concern is about the misinformation and inaccuracy of the online resources. I have realized these problems, that is an issue quite significant and serious the recent years. Various fake news and fraud are showing in the online world. They are concerning that people may receive wrong information from the internet and induce radical behaviors. For example, the riot happened in 2020 at the US capitol. The court seen these rioters was incited by the post from the former president Trump. He was accused of spreading false information and attempted to overthrow the presidential election result.

Nevertheless, I suppose that the merits of utilizing internet information must be more. Internet is the most convenience platform for receive information and knowledge. With artificial intelligence like Chatgpt rose rapidly in recent years, the convenience and accuracy of information in the internet must be enhanced. People are now having more safety tools to receive information and also a more simple way to verify online resources. That would be possible to make the concerns be alleviate in the recent future.