The leaders or directors of organizations are often older people. But some people say that young people can also be good leader. Do you agree or disagree?

Some argued that most leaders or managers of big corporations are seniors, whilst others believe that young people are equally capable of taking such positions. I personally agree with the latter view for the following reasons.

First of all, young people are quick learners of the new science and technologies. That is to say that young generations tend to be more sensitive and open-minded when it comes to spotting the technological changes that are taking place in the world. This is because their brains are more plastic which enable them to be more receptive to new know-how. For example, Mark Zuckerburg founded Facebook right after graduating from college. Because of his expertise of computer science as a young college graduate, he rightly predicted the importance of the Internet and its impact on people’s social lives, which allowed him to successfully implement the idea of connecting people using the Internet.

Equally important, youngsters can possess more freedom of thinking when facing new problems. It means that elderly people can be either too progressive or conservative to solve real world issues, and the ideologies they firmly hold may no longer be true. In comparison, young people can be more embracive to voices from different backgrounds. A good example of that would be Emmanual Macron, who became the president of France at his early forties. Thanks to his young age, he was less constrained by obsolete political views which enables him to absorb pragmatic ideas from both sides of the political spectrum.

To conclude, young people are as competent to be good leaders given their intelligence to learn and their less unbiased view of the world that can lead to more sensible decisions.