The main priority of a government is to provide education for its people. Do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that providing people with good education is the most important function of governments. While I accept the benefits of education, I would argue that there are other priorities that authorities should consider.

On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why education should be the main priority of governments. Firstly, education is essential for personal growth. It enables individuals to gain knowledge, improve their critical thinking abilities as well as problem-solving skills which may be handful in the foreseeable future. Secondly, a well-educated population have a tendency to have higher incomes, better job opportunities, and improved living standards. By providing education to its people, a government may be able to reduce poverty, illiteracy and enhance the county’s economic growth. Finally, by investing in education, authorities can also achieve reduction in bribery and corruption, as educated inhabitants are more likely to be aware of right and wrong.

However, it is essential to note that education goes beyond formal schooling. A comprehensive approach to education ought to encompass primary and secondary school, as well as higher education. It should be high quality for all people, regardless of their socio-economic background, gender and appearance. Furthermore, in my opinion, healthcare is by far the most important duty of governments. If students have poor medical conditions, they may not pay their full attention to their study. For example, during Covid-19 pandemic, there was a significant drawback in literacy rates of students as a result of distance learning and not attending lessons. Hence, I think before investing in education, authorities should construct more hospitals with state-of-the-art technologies even in remote areas.

In conclusion, despite of the fact that education plays a crucial role in society in terms of personal development, higher living standards, I do believe that other functions of authorities, such as healthcare or formal schooling should be the main priority