The media should include more stories which report good news. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that news reporting on various pressing issues is increasingly prevalent, so people suggest that the media should highlight more stories delivering positive news. From my personal perspective, I largely agree with this assertion, given the feasible optimism and favorable impacts of good news on readers, despite the undoubted importance of other types of news.

Opponents of delivering more optimistic stories cite the paramount importance of news about economic and health-related issues. This is because these kinds of news equip people with basic knowledge about pressing issues that the general population is currently encountering. This, in turn, enables people to be aware of potential threats and be better prepared to deal with them. For instance, when readers absorb information about the rising unemployment rate, this will lead to people learning and enhancing essential skills to be more competitive in the labor market. This can also be beneficial in the case of addressing health-related problems. As the majority of people today lead imbalanced lifestyles, such as overconsumption of fast food and excessive sitting, news reporting the potential risks of some serious illnesses and hazardous health problems can help deter people from continuing these ways of living. In both cases, news makes people change in a favorable way.

Nonetheless, I would contend that it is more advantageous to include as much positive news as possible, considering the adverse impact of negative news and the beneficial optimism that good news provides. First and foremost, acquiring too much news delivering news on issues such as wars and conflicts between nations can fuel feelings of anxiety, depression, and stress among readers. For example, reading news about the war in Ukraine, which is happening far beyond people’s immediate communities, can make them feel a sense of threat and uncertainty. Furthermore, more optimistic news should be included on all social media platforms owing to its ability to greatly inspire and motivate people. News about a renowned sportsman who has overcome extreme training conditions and challenging obstacles to achieve success can be enormously impressive and motivating. This, therefore, helps instill in people the idea that dreams and ambitions can be realized by consistent perseverance and hard work. As a consequence, reporting positive news brings more favorable impacts than its previous tendency towards problem-oriented news.

In conclusion, while some prefer news documenting pressing problems given its importance, I would maintain that the idea of adding more good news to the media is better, considering its positive impacts on readers. Therefore, it is advisable to harmoniously combine these kinds of news to meet the demands of the population as a whole.